Police Promotes 117 Officers to Senior Ranks; List Names of Promoted Officers 


Police Promotes 117 Officers to Senior Ranks; List Names of Promoted Officers 


The Police Service Commission (PSC) has approved the appointment of AIG Yahaya Sahabo Abubakar as the Deputy Inspector General (DIG) of Police. Previously, Sahabo was the AIG in charge of Zone 14 Katsina and will now represent the North East Geopolitical Zone on the Police Management Team, succeeding DIG Habu Sani, who recently retired from the DIG Force Intelligence Bureau.


Additionally, the Commission has promoted 122 other senior police officers. Ten Commissioners of Police have been elevated to the rank of Assistant Inspectors General (AIG), fifteen Deputy Commissioners of Police have been promoted to Commissioners, and thirty-six Assistant Commissioners of Police have advanced to Deputy Commissioners. Furthermore, sixty-one Chief Superintendents of Police have been promoted to Assistant Commissioners.


The promotions were announced in a statement released on Friday by Ikechukwu Ani, Head of Press and Public Relations for the force. According to the statement, the 15 Deputy Commissioners, 10 Commissioners, and AIG Abubakar participated in a compulsory interactive promotion interview as part of the requirements for their advancement.


During these sessions, the Commission’s chairman emphasized the need for innovative strategies and knowledge-driven policing to effectively manage internal security and crime in the modern age. He highlighted the importance of a dedicated workforce in safeguarding lives and property across Nigeria and assured that promotions would be conducted regularly and predictably.


Among those promoted to AIG are Ahmed Ammani, Mohammed Dankwara Adamu, Gumel Mohammed Usaini, Hamzat Adebola Ayinde, Okuoma Idegwu Basil, Achinyan Zachary Fera, Baba Zango Ibrahim, Mohammed Isyaku, and Margaret Agebe Ochalla.


Promoted to the rank of Commissioner of Police are DCP Bassey Samuel Ewah, Osagie John Agans-Irabor, Edem Ita Selong, Monday Agbonika, Michael Okoh, Ayodele Oluyemi Sonubi, Iyama Daniel Edobor, Isa Danladi Nda, Akaniyene Ifebem Ezima, Livingston Ikioye Orutugu, Bello Rashid Afegbua, Hycenth Azuka Edozie, Haruna Alaba Yahaya, Peter Ozigi Umoru, and Ayotunde Godwin Omodeinde.


The newly promoted Deputy Commissioners include Obo Ukam Obo, Musibau Adeola Adedoyin, Lawal Bamidele Adeshina, Anthony Okon Placid, Onyeamu Akaeme Onyeamu, Suleiman K. Bayonle, Asuquo Effiong, Mustapha A. Rufai, Victor Akongtendor Bepeh, Chinedu Ugwu, Kingsley Ifeanyi Woke, Issah Onize Lawal, and Ifeanyi Aham Ohuruzo.


The list of promoted officers has been forwarded to the Inspector General of Police for implementation and further action.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *